Cricket World Cup 2019: Batting power to take England to glory?

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

England and Wales
30 May – 14 July

England will enter the 2019 Cricket World Cup, held on home soil and in neighbours Wales from 30 June to 14 July, as one of the clear favourites to claim the trophy.

Trevor Bayliss’ side may have been hit by the withdrawal of opening batsman Alex Hales due to recreational drug abuse, but they still boast arguably the most powerful ball-striking line-up at the tournament.

England all-rounder Ben Stokes.

The likes of Jos Buttler, Eoin Morgan, Jonny Bairstow and Jason Roy are all incredibly quick and prolific scorers. Add in the middle order class of Joe Root and the hitting power of all-rounders Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali and even Chris Woakes, and it’s clear that the host team have the ability to bat any opponent out of the game.

Their bowling is pretty handy too: Tom Curran is a promising up-and-comer, while Woakes, Stokes, Mark Wood and David Willey are classy seamers and Adil Rashid is a game-breaker when on top form.

England coach Trevor Bayliss.

England have been runners-up at the World Cup three times (1979, 1987 and 1992) but there is a sense that this team could go all the way.

The tournament hosts will be in action in the opening match, which sees them take on South Africa at the Oval in London on Thursday 30 May.
With the latest betting odds and the most up-to-date markets, cricket betting has never been so easy. So join Betway now & place your Cricket World Cup Bet with up to K 1,000 in Free Bets
Bet on the Cricket World Cup 2019 with Betway

Cricket World Cup Statistics

First held: 1975
Previous tournaments: 11
Most titles: Australia, 5
Most runs, player: Sachin Tendulkar (India), 2278
Most wickets, player: Glenn McGrath (Australia), 71

You might also like: Best-Ever Cricket World Cup Records

Cricket World Cup previous winners

1975 – West Indies
1979 – West Indies
1983 – India
1987 – Australia
1992 – Pakistan
1996 – Sri Lanka
1999 – Australia
2003 – Australia
2007 – Australia
2011 – India
2015 – Australia 

Bet on international cricket with Betway

With Betway Zambia, you get access to all cricket action across the globe with a various selections of Bet Types allowing you to back favourite countries from the onset. So get in on the action and place your cricket bet now.

Bet on the Cricket World Cup 2019 with Betway

If you are new to Betway, click HERE to register an account now and start betting on sports. On your first deposit at Betway, we'll give you a 50% up to K1,000 awarded as a Free Bet. This bonus only requires 3x Sports bets or Jackpots playthrough at odds of 3.0 or higher. Your Sign Up offer will be credited once your qualifying betslip/s has resulted or has had a minimum of one resulted game.

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube. Download the Betway App.  

Published: 05/29/2019